Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to footer

TPA 50-Year Club seeks nominations

Tennessee Press Association seeks nominations for the 50-Year Club to recognize those with 50 years of service to the Tennessee newspaper industry.  Nominations are being sought and recognition will be given at the State Press Contests Awards Luncheon on Friday, July 19 in Franklin.

Nominees should still be active with a TPA member newspaper and may work in any department.  

The deadline for nominations is Wednesday, June 19. The nomination form is available online or by contacting

According to TPA records, the 50-Year-Club was established to coincide with TPA’s 100th anniversary and recognition spanned from 1969-1971.   TPA reactivated the club with recognitions in 2015 and 2016.  

The following people were recognized during the 2015-2016 events:

Bill Bowden, Marie H. Cox, Charlie Daniel, R. Jack Fishman, Danny Jones, Sam D. Kennedy, Arthur Melton, John Molley, Shirley Nanney, Joe A. Officer, Carson Oliver, Arthur D. (Butch) Rhea, Dean Stone, Georgiana Vines,  Marion Wilhoite,  Bill Williams, Jimmy Williams, Morris Winfrey and Paul Young.