Ideas Contest Winners Announced

TPA’s 2018 Ideas Contest winners were announced Friday, July 13 at a luncheon in Franklin. List of Winners Best of Show went to The Herald-News of Dayton for its “How to Cook a Turkey” special section. Twenty-seven newspapers entered the contest with a total of 634 entries. Best of Show First Runner Up: The Daily Times, Maryville for it’s niche publication, “Horizon.”  Best of Show Second Runner Up: The Leader, Covington, for its Best Special Section, “Children’s Classic.”

Keys to Open Government

Keys to Open Government” a long-awaited 52-page guide to Tennessee’s open records and open meetings laws, was released in February 2015. (Download a copy of the PDF)<
Written by Frank Gibson, former TPA Public Policy Director, and edited by colleague Deborah Fisher at the Tennessee Coalition for Open Government, “Keys” is a guide we hope will help journalists and citizens use “the law.” The guide was made possible with a grant from the Tennessee Press Association Foundation.