Doug Horne is TPA’s new president, elections held July 12

Doug Horne is TPA’s new president

Doug Horne, owner of Republic Newspapers, is the new president of the Tennessee Press Association (TPA).  TPA is the trade association of the state’s daily and non-daily newspapers.  It is composed of 25 daily newspapers and 99 non-daily newspapers.

Horne succeeds Eric Barnes, publisher and CEO of The Daily News Publishing Co, Memphis.  Other officers elected at TPA’s Business Session during the annual Summer Convention, July 12, in Franklin were Chris Vass, public editor of the Chattanooga Times Free Press, re-elected vice president for daily newspapers; Daniel Richardson, publisher of the Carroll County News Leader, Huntingdon, elected vice president for non-daily newspapers; Joseph Hurd, publisher of The Courier, Savannah, re-elected secretary and Darrell Richardson, publisher of The Oak Ridger, Oak Ridge, elected treasurer.

Directors re-elected for two-year terms representing District Two are:  Maria De Varenne, executive editor of The Tennessean, Nashville; Jack McNeely, publisher of the Herald-Citizen, Cookeville and William Mitchell, publisher of the Shelbyville Times-Gazette.  Daniel Williams, office manager of The Paris Post-Intelligencer, was elected as a director of District One for a one-year term to fill the seat previously held be Daniel Richardson.

Eric Barnes will continue on the board for one year as immediate past president.  Also continuing on the Board as directors are E. Scott Critchlow, Union City Daily Messenger; Carl Esposito, The Daily Times, Maryville; Sara Jane Locke, The Herald-News, Dayton; Keith Ponder, The Daily Herald, Columbia and Justin Wilcox, Johnson City Press.

The TPA Board of Directors elected trustees to serve on the Tennessee Press Association Foundation (TPAF) Board of Trustees for three-year terms. Re-elected trustees are: Bob Atkins of Hendersonville, Eric Barnes, David Critchlow Jr., Union City Daily Messenger; R. Jack Fishman, Lakeway Publishers Inc.; W.R. (Ron) Fryar, Cannon Courier, Woodbury;  Dale Gentry, The Standard Banner, Jefferson City; Gregg K. Jones, The Greeneville Sun;  John Jones Jr. of Greeneville;  Chris Vass and Joel Washburn, The McKenzie Banner.

TPAF officers elected at the July 12 TPAF Board of Trustees meeting are Victor Parkins, publisher of The Mirror-Exchange, Milan, elected president and R. Michael Fishman, publisher of the Citizen Tribune, Morristown, elected vice president.

Directors of the Tennessee Press Service (TPS), business affiliate of TPA, elected to three-years terms during the July 12 Stockholders Meeting are Ralph Baldwin, Cleveland Daily Banner and Ron Fryar.  Continuing as TPS directors are David Cricthlow Jr., Union City Daily Messenger;  Dave Gould, Main Street Media of Tennessee; Jana Thomasson, The Mountain Press, Sevierville and Michael Williams, publisher of The Paris Post-Intelligencer.

At the July 12 TPS Board of Directors Meeting, Dave Gould was re-elected president for a one-year term and Jana Thomasson was re-elected vice president for a one-year term.

About Doug Horne
Doug Horne has been an entrepreneur for over 40 years and Horne Properties, Inc has developed over 20 million square feet of shopping centers, apartments, and office buildings.  In addition to newspapers, Horne Radio has two FM and one AM station.  Republic Newspapers has owned a number of community newspapers in four states and currently owns the Farragut Press and The Courier News in Clinton, Tennessee.

Horne is a University of Tennessee Emeriti Board Trustee and currently serves on the Samaritan’s Purse Board and has served on other boards as well. He has been married to Brenda for 51 years and they have two children and two grandchildren.

About TPA
The TPA was founded in 1870-71 for the purpose of creating a unified voice for the newspaper industry in Tennessee. Today, TPA continues to provide assistance to its 124 member newspapers by monitoring legislative activities, providing training programs, issuing press credentials, maintaining a website and providing regular meetings and forums to foster the exchange of information and ideas.

The TPA presidency rotates among TPA’s three divisions of Tennessee, east, middle and west, and alternates each year between a daily and non-daily publication. It is customary that, when a person is elected a vice president, he or she will serve two terms as vice president before being elected president.