Tennessee Press Online

Find A Paper
Associate Members
Download Ads
Member Services
Contact Us

Member Services
Find Members
*Access to publishers only.


Directory information for TPA member newspapers may be found under "Newspapers Online" or by calling to order your copy of the Tennessee Newspaper Directory today. ($40 cover price waived for members and clients.) ORDER ONLINE

TPA needs your USPS Statement of Ownership, Management and Circulation
Please help us find your Statement of Ownership when it is published. Please send us a tearsheet or fill out this online form to let us know which edition to search. Thanks to all of our members who have already mailed tearsheets or submitted the information online!

2016 Tennessee Newspaper Directory, deadline Nov. 13
Members: Update your newspaper's listing
Associates: Update your associate listing
Advertising Rates


New Public Notice Journalism Contest, deadline Dec. 31
The deadline for entries in TPA's first Tennessee Public Notice Journalism Contest is Dec. 31. The contest recognizes journalists that use public notice, or the lack of required public notice, to raise awareness of its importance. The award is intended to encourage reporters and editors to incorporate public notices into their reporting and writing.

The annual award is given to a TPA member newspaper journalist, or team of journalists, that utilizes public notices to generate stories of interest or importance to readers. A prize of $200 will be awarded to the winning journalist or divided among a team of winning journalists. entry information and criteria


Headliner of the Year nominations deadline Dec. 31
Publishers and editors of member newspapers are encouraged to submit nominations for the third annual Tennessee Press Association Headliner of the Year Award.

The award was established to recognize the person or group that has generated the most positive press within the state over the course of the year. The inaugural award for 2013 was presented to UT Vols Head Football Coach Butch Jones, and the 2014 award to Dolly Parton for her Imagination Library.

The deadline for submitting nominations for the annual award is Thursday, Dec. 31. nomination form Nominations can be returned by mail, fax or email.


October edition of The Tennessee Press features State Press Contests Winners
Watch your mail for this month's edition. Or read it online now. Main section   State Press Contests section. Featured in the edition are the first place winners in the categories of Single Editorial, Personal Humor Column, Personal Column, Sports Photograph, Feature Photograph, and News Photograph plus the General Excellence and Make-Up and Appearance winners. Congratulations to all winners!


2015 UT-TPA State Press Contests Awards presented July 16 in Knoxville

Representing winning newspapers at the 2015 State Press Contests Awards Banquet, July 16 in Knoxville. Photo by Nick Myers, University of Tennessee

Photos from July 17 individual first place winners with Dr. Tonjanita Johnson

Master List of Winners by Category 2015
Excel File with list of winners, judges' comments, captions and contributors 2015
Press Release 2015                         
 Lists of winners in previous years


2015 TPA Ideas Contest Awards presented July 17
Best of Show goes to The Lebanon Democrat

Representatives of winning newspapers at the 2015 TPA Ideas Contest Awards Breakfast, July 17 in Knoxville.

Excel File with list of Ideas Contest winners, captions and contributors 2015


Keys to Open Government Guide available

Keys to Open Government

Keys to Open Government” a long-awaited 52-page guide to Tennessee’s open records and open meetings laws, was released in February 2015. (Download a copy of the PDF)

Written by Frank Gibson, TPA Public Policy Director, and edited by colleague Deborah Fisher at the Tennessee Coalition for Open Government, “Keys” is a guide we hope will help journalists and citizens use “the law.” The guide was made possible with a grant from the Tennessee Press Association Foundation.


TPA 50-Year Club nomination form

The Tennessee Press Association Board of Directors has restored the 50-Year Club.
T he nomination form is available online at www.tnpress.com/forms/50YearClubNomination.pdf. Submit a nomination at any time.


Newspapers must comply with Public Notice Law
Notices must be posted on newspaper's website AND www.tnpublicnotice.com

 Details at tnpress.com/publicnoticelaw.html

Ads for newspaper promotion campaign available
Every TPA member publisher should have received a CD with ads promoting the newspaper industry. This campaign is titled, “Tennessee Newspapers: Turning the Page on the Future.”

Please continue to run these ads as you have space available.

Download/view the promotional ads

If you need a disk with all of the ads or want the ads designed for a billboard, please contact the TPA office at (865) 584-5761.


Series of Public Notice Ads reinforces the importance of printed notice
The following public notice ads were adapted by Chattanooga Times Free Press from concept ads created by Pennsylvania Newspaper Publishers Association, and are available for all TPA members to use. All ads are half page ads.
Link to ads






Have a job opening?
Post your open positions and search for resumes in TPA's employment area at http://www.tnpress.com/employment.html.
Only authorized personnel from member newspapers can post jobs or review résumés. First time users will need to register with a user name and password. Once you complete your online registration, please contact Robyn Gentile, member services manager, for access—(865) 584-5761, ext. 105 or via e-mail.




Newspaper Advertising

Advertise Statewide

Newspaper Institute
Institute of Newspaper Technology


TPA is a primary media sponsor of the Governor's Books from Birth Foundation Imagination Library project.